Sunday, March 14, 2010

Washington County Democratic Convention - 2010

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Washington County Democratic Convention

Minutes of the Convention Proceedings

The Washington County Democrats met at the Washington Public Library on Saturday, March 13th, 2010. The meeting was preceded with a breakfast beginning at 8:30 a.m., furnished by volunteers. A free will offering was taken for the breakfast.

The Temporary Chairperson, Louise Frakes, called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. All Washington County delegates, alternates, and registered Democrats were seated for a total of 36 participants. This fulfilled the number needed for a quorum as required by the state constitution. She called for election of both a permanent chair and a secretary.

Fred Stark made the motion, 2nd by Dave Ciha that Louise Frakes, be elected to the position of permanent chair. The motion was approved.

Harold Frakes made the motion 2nd by Terry Phillips that Peter Morrison, be appointed permanent secretary and that motion was approved.

Representative Larry Marek, Senator Becky Schmitz, Supervisor Candidate Linda Brown, State Vet Caucus chair Terry Philips, and County Attorney Barb Edmonson, spoke on their decision to run for office in the upcoming November 2010 election.

Following a discussion, the following individuals were elected, as the required 9 delegates, and 1 youth delegate, to both the District and State conventions:

Peter Morrison

Matt Schaeffer

Doris Park

Harold Frakes

Bob Spenner

Kay Ciha

Katrina Schaeffer

Sandra Johnson

Louise Frakes

Eliza Schaeffer, was elected to the position of youth delegate

As also required, the following individuals were elected as alternates:

Diane Schaeffer

Steve Maxon

Patrick Finney

John Greener

Tom Antosiak

Terry Philips

David Smithers

Mary Smith

Ron Neff

Linda Brown

Merle Davis

Carol Ray

Rodney Stogdill

Monte Asbury

As further required, the following individuals were elected to serve on the various committees, providing one delegate for each of the committees as follows:

Rules and Nominations: Harold Frakes

Credentials: Sandra Johnson

Arrangements: Diane Schaeffer

Platform: Matt Schaeffer

That following a lively discussion, the county Convention Platform for 2010, was adopted with some items modified, deleted and added as approved. Chairman Matt Schaeffer and the platform committee did a great job and were congratulated for a difficult task.

An ad hoc committee will be formed to plan a retreat and that they will report at the April meeting.

Patrick Finney was a great host/help and the library was a wonderful place to hold the convention.

The Convention concluded at 1:15 p.m., having completed all requirements.

Next regular meeting of the Washington County Democrats will be held April 13, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. at the regular location in the Halcyon House, Game Room.

Respectfully submitted,

Peter G. Morrison, Secretary